EMPHASIS AD ANALYSIS
1. Select a magazine advertisement, from the magazines provided in class. Cut it out and tape or glue it to the paper provided in class.
2. Identify its GOAL and AUDIENCE. (What are they trying to do, and who are they trying to reach?)
3. Identify the point of EMPHASIS in the ad. Clearly mark it on your layout.
4. Identify a SECONDARY ACCENT and a TERTIARY ACCENT. Clearly mark them on your layout.
5. Name two techniques for effective emphasis listed on pages 27,28 and 29 your text that are used in the ad. Clearly mark them on your layout.
6. Do you think the ad is effectively reaching the demographic (audience) they hope to target? Explain why or why not in 1-2 sentences on your paper.
7. Share your analysis with a classmate.
Monday, October 20, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
DIGITAL PHOTO ASSIGNMENTS 10/2
1.If you are working on your lenticular, you can finish on Monday. Do the activities listed below instead.
2.Open
the “Fake Shadow” folder in Hand-Out.
Watch
“Quick Mask.swf”,
then “Fake Shadow.mp4. Practice using the pictures of the horse. Apply the fake shadow technique to a different photo of your choice. Save as a JPEG and put in Hand-IN.
3.Open the “Filters Assignment” folder in Hand-Out. Watch
“Layers and Filters.mp4”. Create a filter sampler of your own. Make sure to keep track of your filter settings on a piece of paper because you have to type them onto the document. You can't look it up after you apply the filter. Save as a JPEG and put in Hand-IN.
GRAPHIC DESIGN INTRO: BRUSHES, PATTERN, LAYER STYLES, BLEND MODES & OPACITY ASSIGNMENT
Create a
Photoshop document that is 8.5 x 11 OR 11 X 8.5 @ 150dpi.
Use at least 6 images.
Use at least 6 images.
Demonstrate
at least one thing from each of the following topics:
1. BRUSHES: Downloaded brushes or custom brushes made from selections
2. PATTERNS: Downloaded patterns or patterns made from selections.
Can be applied with a FILL LAYER or with the PATTERN STAMP.
3. LAYER STYLES: Anything in the “FX” options at the bottom of the layer panel
4. BLEND MODES: Anything from the drop down menu at the top left side of the layer panel.
5. OPACITY: Any opacity setting below 100%.
Adjust using the percentage box or slider at the top right side of the layer panel.
1. BRUSHES: Downloaded brushes or custom brushes made from selections
2. PATTERNS: Downloaded patterns or patterns made from selections.
Can be applied with a FILL LAYER or with the PATTERN STAMP.
3. LAYER STYLES: Anything in the “FX” options at the bottom of the layer panel
4. BLEND MODES: Anything from the drop down menu at the top left side of the layer panel.
5. OPACITY: Any opacity setting below 100%.
Adjust using the percentage box or slider at the top right side of the layer panel.
You can download a ton of cool patterns and brushes at http://www.brusheezy.com/
Save your final work as a JPEG and submit to Hand-In. When you receive your printout, write down which tools you used and where they can be seen on the back.
Learning
Targets:
I can
create custom brushes and patterns from selections.
I can download and install custom brushes and patterns.
I can create special effects using blend modes, layer styles, and opacity settings.
I can download and install custom brushes and patterns.
I can create special effects using blend modes, layer styles, and opacity settings.
CUSTOM BRUSH
CUSTOM PATTERN
DOWNLOAD BRUSH
BLEND MODE AND LAYER STYLE
Thursday, September 25, 2014
DIGITAL PHOTO: LENTICULAR IMAGE
1. Set up a Photoshop document that is:
Width: 14 inches
Height: 8.5 inches
Resolution: 300 dpi.
2. Place vertical guides at 1/2 inch intervals all across the document. Place horizontal guides at 1 inch and 7.5 inches.
3. Open the images you want to use in your lenticular. Use the Crop tool to resize the pictures to:
Width: 6.5 inches
Height: 6.5 inches
Resolution: 300 dpi
4. Place vertical guides at 1/2 inch intervals all across the pictures.
5. Use the guides to help you make clean selections of your images to splice together inside the 14 x 8.5 document. Make sure View > Snap To > Guides is checked. See http://photojojo.com/content/diy/how-to-make-lenticular-images/ for the splicing method.
6. Select all your layers by holding the COMMAND key as you click on them. Go to Layer > Align > Top Edges.
7. Save your Photoshop Document.
8. Flatten your Photoshop document. Save it as a Photoshop PDF.
9. Put in Hand-In folder and tell me when you have done this.
Width: 14 inches
Height: 8.5 inches
Resolution: 300 dpi.
2. Place vertical guides at 1/2 inch intervals all across the document. Place horizontal guides at 1 inch and 7.5 inches.
3. Open the images you want to use in your lenticular. Use the Crop tool to resize the pictures to:
Width: 6.5 inches
Height: 6.5 inches
Resolution: 300 dpi
4. Place vertical guides at 1/2 inch intervals all across the pictures.
5. Use the guides to help you make clean selections of your images to splice together inside the 14 x 8.5 document. Make sure View > Snap To > Guides is checked. See http://photojojo.com/content/diy/how-to-make-lenticular-images/ for the splicing method.
6. Select all your layers by holding the COMMAND key as you click on them. Go to Layer > Align > Top Edges.
7. Save your Photoshop Document.
8. Flatten your Photoshop document. Save it as a Photoshop PDF.
9. Put in Hand-In folder and tell me when you have done this.
Friday, May 30, 2014
DIGITAL MEDIA FINAL PROJECTS
1. 3-D Image: See me for directions sheet and 3-D glasses. More examples in the Hand-Out folder.
3. Lenticular Image (Like the display across from the main office.)
*You might do this as a required assignment in another Digital Media course in the future. #beware
Show the same object in two different states (My cat as a Muppet and as a Lion)
Show a pair of objects (Hall & Oates)
Show a set of opposites (Day & Night, Good & Evil, Man & Woman, etc.)
4. Photo Cube 6 Theme Based Images = 1 Rockin objet d'art!
Your Choice: Six of Your Own Altered Photos
Or
Your Favorite Song in Six School Appropriate Panels
2. Animated .gif: See me for directions sheet.
3. Lenticular Image (Like the display across from the main office.)
*You might do this as a required assignment in another Digital Media course in the future. #beware
Show the same object in two different states (My cat as a Muppet and as a Lion)
Show a pair of objects (Hall & Oates)
Show a set of opposites (Day & Night, Good & Evil, Man & Woman, etc.)
4. Photo Cube 6 Theme Based Images = 1 Rockin objet d'art!
Your Choice: Six of Your Own Altered Photos
Or
Your Favorite Song in Six School Appropriate Panels
Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Want a Color Print of Your Mural?
Click the link below to make a Color Print Request!
https://docs.google.com/a/mpls.k12.mn.us/forms/d/1_-5amYyiZA4Qao0_jtVPfaVtjDA9RYkzdFmY2KPf7HQ/viewform?usp=send_form
https://docs.google.com/a/mpls.k12.mn.us/forms/d/1_-5amYyiZA4Qao0_jtVPfaVtjDA9RYkzdFmY2KPf7HQ/viewform?usp=send_form
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
COPYRIGHT FRIENDLY IMAGE SOURCES
Here are some links to other websites that you can find images that are not restricted by copyright
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)






